Committee for the Comparative Study of New Nations


[Unidentified committee members, 1961]

The Committee for the Comparative Study of New Nations was formally established in 1960 by faculty from several University of Chicago social sciences departments, all of whom had an interest in the problems of developing countries.

Founding faculty members included Lloyd A. Fallers, Morris Janowitz, Manning NashMax
, and Edward Shils and Clifford Geertz (whose papers the SCRC also holds). While the membership was originally intended to be kept
relatively small, the committee more than doubled in size over the next
ten years, and included many of the university’s leading faculty in
anthropology, history, law, and education.

The committee’s records contain meeting minutes, correspondence, reports, publications, research papers, and other material documenting the committee’s activities. The collection should continue to be a resource for those interested in developing nations and post-colonial studies.

Visit the finding aid for the collection to learn more!

This entry was posted in Featured Collections, General News, Special Collections. Bookmark the permalink.
  • Delicious
  • Facebook
  • RSS Feed
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter